The War Has Begun, And I’m Losing.

Finals just started which means the war between my will to not fail 12th grade and the demons of procrastination just did too. The first two days went great. I made a plan –two hours for every chapter with 10 minute breaks between them- and actually stuck to it. I even managed to finish before time the second day. Basically, I was on a roll.

My determination started deteriorating the next couple of days. I started getting distracted by the simplest of things. I once saw a file on the table and started to throw it in the air. Just throwing it. Where’s the fun in that? Fortunately, I realized what I was doing and stopped about two minutes later. Then I started singing Backstreet Boys’ songs and Disney ones too. Any normal person wouldn’t find that a problem but I’m really bad with multitasking which means when I sing something, I have to drop everything and actually focus on the singing part. Oh, and I also realized Backstreet Boys’ songs always get stuck in my head during finals. Maybe there’s a psychological/philosophical/emotional/childhoodical link between the two. I’m sure I’ll figure it out before the finals end. You know, because of all the “free time” I have.

Today was the worst yet. While I was studying, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. I then turned around and looked at it and started laughing. The way I was sitting made my face look like it just gained 50 kilos and developed a triple chin along the way. I then spent the next 10 minutes in front of the mirror making different faces and laughing. The first five were spent taking pictures of my new chubby face and the other 5 minutes were spent inventing new ones.

My procrastination is even making me act extra nice to my 11 year-old sister. I actually called her into my room today and asked her what happened in school today. It’s not that I don’t talk with my sister. I actually enjoy spending time with her. It’s just that I sometimes get annoyed about the fact that she has a 15 minute-long report EVERY SINGLE DAY about what happened in school. Her life is like a never ending soap opera. I can be 6th grade’s own “Gossip Girl” with all the information I get.

It seems like I’m getting worse by the minute. I’m seriously afraid that one day I might stop studying all together. I need to find a way to procrastinate procrastination. Soon.

Procrastination is searching for videos about procrastination and then watching them.

TTFN.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The War Has Begun, And I’m Losing.

  1. rizter

    Have you heard of determined procrastination?

    Its this: when someone who rarely updates his blog because he is totally jobless otherwise but is lazy to finally gets to update on. He writes it sincerely, edits it multiple times, reviews it and posts it all because he is procrastinating for something else.

  2. Jude

    loooooooooooool 🙂 .. I suffer from things much worse than that.

    1. I rearranged my room for absolutely no reason what so ever.

    2. I did create new face expressions not known to mother earth.

    3. I managed to finish the ink in every pen I hate.

    4. I managed to build a table on a Thursday afternoon :’) ,, since I was so free and had absolutely nothing to study!! ..

    5. Continuing on #3… I managed to do it on the random papers I have… Since I hate having unequal sized and unequal colored papers 😛

    I have to stop remembering everything I did and get back to work -.-

    loool! .. Great post Fati 😉

Leave a comment